A sketch of Saikat’s 30 years journey

July 10, 2018


Saikat, as an organization, has matured into adulthood – it is now 30 years old. There is a tale that in
early 1984, a few Bengali residents of San Diego (there were only a few at that time like Dipak and
Munia Gupta, Joy and Supriya Maitra, Dev Purakayastha, Kamalendu and Pratima Ganguly) thought of
having a Saraswati Puja but could not find an idol. They decided to worship the idol attached to the
keychain of Joy Maitra. Kamalendu Ganguly was the priest for the puja at Dev’s house. It was thought
that the idol should be immersed (“Bisharjan”) in a tea cup or in the kitchen sink so that Joy could
retrieve his keychain later. This mini event marked the first inspiration of what was about to come.


Two years later a few more enthusiastic Bengalis came. Among them were Nemai and Anusuya Pyne,
Sukumar Banerjee and Shankar Chatterjee. Gujarat born Shabda Roy was in San Diego but he was then
more of a Gujarati than a Bengali. Eventually Shabdada was persuaded to join the Bengali crowd and, in
1986, that small crowd got together to conceive the thought of forming a Bengali organization. Among
them were Partha Sarathi Majumdar, Dipak Gupta, Niladri Sarkar, Tamal Dasupta, Joy Maitra,
Kamalendu Ganguly, Shankar Chatterjee and Shabda Roy. Later meetings also included Nemai Pyne and
Dev Purakayastha. By the time name “Saikat” (proposed by Shankar) and the logo (initially designed by
Sanjukta Dasgupta and Shankar, and later, modified by Sushil Mahata) were adopted and some legal
paperwork was completed, it was 1987. Two tireless and devoted leaders of Saikat were Shabda Roy and
Nemai Pyne who nurtured Saikat like their own baby. Alas, both of them have passed away and are no
more with us but their spirit remain as inspiration. Saikat’s first Saraswati Puja was held in 1988 with a
formal idol brought from Kolkata and, in the same year, Nemai Pyne submitted an IRS application for
gaining tax-exempt status. The official IRS approval of 501(c)(3) status came in February 1989. A
provisional constitution was adopted in 1990s, but an amended version was adopted in 2002 and was
made effective retroactively from 2000. The constitution was further amended in 2010 and 2017.


The presidents of Saikat were (1) Shabda Roy, (2) Sukumar Banerjee, (3) Shabda Roy (he was president
twice), (4) Anusuya Pyne, (5) Sushil Mahata, (6) Pijush Dewanjee, (7) Easeeta Ray Chowdhury, (8)
Gautam Bandyopadhyay, (9) Saswata Talukdar, (10) Rajib Sengupta, (11) Rudranil DebRoy, (12)
Shantanu Sinha, (13) Anuradha De, and the current president (14) Debopriyo Chowdhury.


Over the last 30 years Saikat as a community has swelled in numbers. Saikat now has a sound financial
foundation. However, the most important thing is that in spite of the growth in numbers, Saikat remains
one and unified and is committed to providing a homely atmosphere. We hope and pray to continue this
tradition and grow Saikat even more.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

You Might Also Like:

Call for Directors for Online Event 'অভিনয়ে অনুভূতি'

June 11, 2020


June 2, 2020

Please reload

© 2019 by Saikat - Bengali Association of San Diego